Rule #1: Love People

(This is the first post explaining my Rules for Happiness. Check it out to see all the rest!)

Years ago I have this fantastic conversation with my friend Scott. (He’s one of those people who just knows me, and I have been always grateful for that.) We were talking & blogging about love and what it means. His definition was this:

Love is finding joy in another person’s existance.

How amazingly simple is that? This is how you love everyone.

Love as an act of joy is easy. People bring us different kinds of joy, as we find different kinds of joy in each person. But this attitude is the key to loving people, not just a person. Of course, it’s an applicable attitude to use in deeper relationships too.

Look at each person you meet. Where can you find joy in their existence?

