Rule #3: Drink Tea Often

(This is the third post explaining my Rules for Happiness. Check it out to see all the rest!)

Scientists and marketers spend a lot of time touting the health benefits of tea. It’s chock full of tannins, antioxidants and other awesome things that help your brain, teeth and body. Tea helps you focus, helps you heal and helps you stay young.

But that is not why I think you should drink it. Yes, it’s good for you. But that’s not reason enough to consume anything. At least, not in my mind.

Tea is so many more things then the health benefits. It’s connection. To the earth, to life, to friends and family and memories. It’s about rituals, laughter and tears.

There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea. ~ Bernard-Paul Heroux

Many of my favorite memories are wrapped up in the warm steam coming off a tea cup. The happy face of a friend trying a new blend always fills me with delight. The joyous sound of “Yes!” when I ask if I should make tea. The way a cup of tea makes everything better no matter if it’s celebration or heartbreak.

When I’m alone it’s the slow growing rumble, the whistle of the kettle, the hot steam rising, the leaves dancing within the soft curves of the cup, it’s the sweet routine of patience, the hot mug in my fingers, the shockingly hot first sip, the warmth filling my chest as the deep, mellow sips slide down my throat.

In this simple drink I am connected to a place half a world away. These amazing little leaves grow somewhere in India or China, they are picked by hand by people who will likely never live the life of luxury I lead, processed and shipped to our country, to fill the tea strainer in my cup.

Tea connects me: to life, to myself, to my friends. Every cup I sip – alone or with a friend – is linked all the other simple moments that make up my life. That connection makes me happy.

I bet it’ll make you happy too.

